Sydney Conservatorium of Music

  • Road 3 as found during the archaeological program, 1998.

  • Road 3, southeast corner of the Stables in August 1870, GPO 1-05687, ML, SLNSW.


The Conservatorium Site contained historical archaeology dating from c1800 into the twentieth century. The main archaeological evidence at the site relates to the Government Stables (1817-1821) which forms the core of the Sydney Conservatorium of Music buildings. The Stables archaeology includes the southern forecourt with its road and drainage system, a cistern, artefacts from a large rubbish dump (c1840-1913), and surviving remains of the Stables internal configuration hidden by twentieth-century alterations. Remains of an early bakehouse (c1800-1813) survive underneath Verbrugghen Hall which was built within the stables courtyard.


This project retained archaeological remains which visitors can see in the entrance foyer and downstairs. There are display cases downstairs with artefacts recovered during the archaeological program as well as sections of one of the large drains. Other aspects of the sites archaeology and history are found within the Stables building.


NSW Department of Public Works & Service (DPWS), now Department of Commerce, for the University of Sydney and the NSW Department of Education. This archaeological project (1998-2001) was funded as part of the redevelopment of the Sydney Conservatorium of Music and Conservatorium High School.


Many of the historic images, maps and plans included in the report are from the Mitchell Library, State Library of NSW and NSW State Records.


Volume 1: History & Archaeology

Volume 2: Response to Research Design

Volume 3: Plans, Elevations, Sections and Harris Matrix

Volume 4: Recording and Analysis of Stables Fabric

Volume 5: Artefact and Subconsultant Reports

Volume 6: Appendices


Sydney Conservatorium of Music